Author Topic: Article: The True Costs of Robo Advisors  (Read 5073 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Article: The True Costs of Robo Advisors
« on: June 12, 2015, 09:50:22 AM »
http://investorjunkie.com/42668/true-costs-robo-advisors/

They compare Betterment, Charles Schwab, and Wealthfront.

Schwab wins for everything but  very small amounts.

(And, of course, DIY is even cheaper.)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

trailrated

• Handlebar Stache
  • a smooth sea never made a skilled sailor
Re: Article: The True Costs of Robo Advisors
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2015, 09:59:02 AM »
Thanks for posting the article! I am giving a presentation at our local bogleheads meeting on robo advisors next week. This will come in handy.

skyrefuge

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2015, 10:20:30 AM »

Well, not really. Yes, Schwab wins if you only look at the costs he included in the tables, but the numbers in the tables don't tell the whole story, since they ignore the opportunity cost of Schwab's high cash allocation.  The article doesn't ignore that opportunity cost, but it oddly omits it from the tables (what everyone is going to look at) and saves the discussion for after the tables, when most people have stopped reading. "If you add that amount to Charles Schwab’s annual expenses, they then become the most expensive firm."

There was also no discussion of the relative "gains" possible from automated tax-loss harvesting.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2015, 10:47:07 AM »