Author Topic: Are you concerned with American decline?  (Read 11812 times)

Hash Brown

• Stubble
Re: Are you concerned with American decline?
« Reply #50 on: September 09, 2021, 06:46:44 AM »
People have been saying the U.S. is in decline for my entire lifetime, yet the S&P has exploded in value by 10x since I was a freshman in high school.  In another 20-30 years the China scare might be forgotten in the way people pretty much forget the Japanese ravaging of the American machine tool industry, its challenge to American automakers, etc.   

China faces profound demographic challenges thanks to the one child policy.  Its ability to create robust overland trade with India will require the biggest engineering accomplishemnts ever - somehow tackling the Tibetan Plateau and the Himalayas with an array of record-smashing bridges and tunnels that will take decades to build.   

The United States continues to attract huge numbers of the best people from various parts of the world, especially India and East Asia.  We do need to somehow encourage more native-born Americans from wealthy families to have more children and to quit waiting until they're 38 to have their first one.   

Abe

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #51 on: September 09, 2021, 07:27:21 AM »
The other good thing going for the US is we have a large pool of docile working-class people (as in they don’t expect much from either the government or employers) that seem happy to hand over any hard-earned gains to people rich enough to invest in various companies, hoping to one day get some crumbs from that pie. I don’t something like that would fly in most of Western Europe or developed parts of Asia.
LOL at the idea that Americans get "crumbs". It's one of the countries where workers have the most disposable income in the world, right after Switzerland and Norway.

I indirectly wrote about this last year:
https://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/welcome-to-the-forum/so-you-want-to-move-to-europe-a-reality-check/