Author Topic: Anyone playing option chains?  (Read 5785 times)

DumpTruck

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Anyone playing option chains?
« on: February 19, 2014, 03:04:53 PM »
Anyone out there playing any call/put options? What are you playing?

I'm just getting into it. My last play was a $6 Feb Put on ARNA. Looks like I should keep the premium and not get put the stock at this point. Others...

CALL
ZNGA
FRF

I'm looking for slightly volatile stocks in the $5-$15 range that tend to roll.

KingCoin

• Pencil Stache
  • Achieved FI @ 30
Re: Anyone playing option chains?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2014, 03:12:35 PM »
You trading delta or just gambling?

Mister Fancypants

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2014, 04:06:13 AM »
I got hammered big time in Weekly Iron Condors on SPY during the government shutdown.

Too much Gamma/Delta and not enough Theta.

My wife says I have to stay away from options for a while.

DaKini

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2014, 05:48:54 AM »
For some time now i play the option in my mind to put a flame onto a bank note in front of others just to watch their faces.
Prior doing that, i will have an answer for anyona asking if im mad.

For smokers i already have the right answer as they effectiviely doing the same thing however i will stay more healthy.

Vjklander

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2014, 06:11:52 AM »
Nope, I don't engage in any of that funny business. Strictly buy and hold. None of my accounts are margin accounts.
Vjk

KingCoin

• Pencil Stache
  • Achieved FI @ 30
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2014, 09:14:04 AM »
This article makes a modestly interesting case for selling AAPL puts around the $480-500 strike:
http://seekingalpha.com/article/2023421-the-500-apple-put-backing-up-the-truck-on-buy-backs

Of course, a lousy quarter could temper both Icahn and Cook's enthusiasm for buying stock at $500. These things tend to work until they don't.

DumpTruck

• 5 O'Clock Shadow