Author Topic: Any way to get a tax free Roth with high income?  (Read 4722 times)

Mr Mark

• Handlebar Stache
  • Achieved Financial Independence summer 2014. RE'18
Any way to get a tax free Roth with high income?
« on: May 14, 2012, 10:26:04 AM »
Right now I'm fortunate enough to have a pretty high income, >200k last year. But this means I can't start any tax free accounts like Roths it seems.  Plus my employer doesn't offer a 401k.

Is there anyway to get around this, or are we stuck with tax free Munis et al?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Any way to get a tax free Roth with high income?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2012, 11:48:08 AM »
Right now I'm fortunate enough to have a pretty high income, >200k last year. But this means I can't start any tax free accounts like Roths it seems.  Plus my employer doesn't offer a 401k.

Is there anyway to get around this, or are we stuck with tax free Munis et al?

Google "back door Roth."
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Mr Mark

• Handlebar Stache
  • Achieved Financial Independence summer 2014. RE'18
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2012, 01:55:15 PM »
Thanks!

That looks like the thing to do. This way we can put 10k/yr into a tax free Roth. Sweet.

OK, it's not huge, but every bit helps! Wish I'd done it earlier.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2012, 02:02:44 PM »
OK, it's not huge, but every bit helps!

Absolutely!  Cheers!
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.