Author Topic: Any concerns about investing in crowdfunded commercial real estate?  (Read 7415 times)

El Gringo

• Bristles
Fundrise is an internet startup that has a fascinating model of crowdfunding real estate development, selling small shares to individual investors. It's an innovative concept and has huge potential. Right now the only place you can do it is through Fundrise and only if you live in VA or DC. They have building currently open now: https://fundrise.com/offerings/3/view

I have no legal background and am wondering if there is anything to be concerned about before buying some shares. In the Operating Agreement (https://s3.amazonaws.com/fundrise-content/offering-documents/70231517-c874-46b7-884b-fd59812d54f1/Fundrise_906_H_Street_--Second_Amended_and_Restated_Operating_Agreement.pdf), check out Section VI Transfer of Membership Units and Withdrawals of Members and section 9.16.9. It seems like it's nearly impossible to get out of if I ever wanted to. Should I be concerned about that? I'm also wondering in what context section 3.2.2. Procuring Additional Funds would apply. In what sort of situation would I be required to contribute more funds? Anything else I should be concerned about?

It's kind of daunting that the ability to transfer my interests are very limited. If I'm going to be stuck with it, I want to be sure that there's no liability. In other words, is there any other risk, besides the always-present risk that I could lose my whole investment? As long as that's the only risk, then I'm ok with it, because I only plan to throw a few hundred bucks in it, which I can afford to lose.

(For interesting analysis on how this could shake up commercial real estate, read this interesting article in Atlantic Cities: http://www.theatlanticcities.com/neighborhoods/2012/11/real-estate-deal-could-change-future-everything/3897/ )

marty998

• Walrus Stache