Author Topic: Another work 401k allocation thread!  (Read 2171 times)

ZORAKC2C

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Another work 401k allocation thread!
« on: September 12, 2017, 10:35:13 AM »
Hey Mustachians,

I just started learning how to FIREbend a couple of weeks ago, and I'm ready to reallocate my assets in my work 401k. Here are the funds that I think are my best options:

FidelityŽ 500 Index Premium (FUSVX) - 0.04% expense rate - Large Blend
Vanguard Growth Index Admiral (VIGAX) - 0.06% - Large Growth
Vanguard Equity-Income Adm (VEIRX) - 0.17% - Large Value
Vanguard Strategic Equity Inv (VSEQX) - 0.18% - Mid-Cap Blend
Vanguard Mid-Cap Growth Index Admiral (VMGMX) - 0.07% - Mid-Cap Growth

My hunch is to reallocate everything into FUSVX since it's an S&P 500 Index fund/a sister to Vanguard's VFIAX. But, would there be any benefit to doing a majority in FUSVX and a bit in VIGAX and/or VMGMX (say, 80/10/10?), or would it be - as I assume - unnecessarily complicating things just to dive into some Vanguard funds?

Thanks in advance for your insight!

markpst

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Another work 401k allocation thread!
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2017, 10:47:24 AM »
Personally,

I would probably do something like 60% large cap, 20% medium cap, and 20% small cap. If small cap isn't a reasonable option, I would do 80% FUSVX and 20% VMGMX. A lot of people believe in just going for the Total US Market or the 500 index.

Just for perspective, the top 10 holdings of the 500 index (Vanguard in the link below, but Fidelity would be similar) make up 18.2% of the portfolio. That is a number I'm not comfortable with.

https://www.advisorperspectives.com/articles/2017/01/30/is-a-total-market-fund-the-most-diversified-portfolio

ZORAKC2C

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2017, 11:35:01 AM »
Personally,