Author Topic: American Funds Question  (Read 6287 times)

FIUBLUE1811

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
American Funds Question
« on: March 05, 2015, 08:52:58 PM »
I've been a long time reader, but this is my first post.

I subscribe to the Boglehead philosophy of index funding and do my investing with Vanguard and my government TSP account. I'm no expert, just understand the basics of index investing.

My question is in regards to my girlfriend/future fiancé. She is overall good financially as she's frugal and budgets her cash, but she has no interest in investing. She made the dumb decision right when we met 2 years ago to lease a car. A decision she now regrets and a decision I didn't steer her away from too hard as we had just started dating and she was pushed towards it by family. She doesn't make much and between the lease and rent she's not left with much. Since we've started dating I've slowly been introducing her to the MMM philosophy and she's been taking to it. The lease is up this year thankfully.

Her employer offers a 401k plan with a 5% match. I've convinced her to at least contribute up the match as its free money (she doesn't have much money left over at the end of month so she was initially hesitant).

Now my question is, she is limited to investing in "American Funds". I believe these are actively managed funds not index funds. I currently have her invested in the American Funds 2050 Retirement Funds as it seemed to be a simple fund for someone not interested in finance. I figured this would be closest to a Vanguard Target Fund?

I don't much about these "American Fund" funds, any funds I should look for someone with a long horizon to retirement?

She does not plan to stay in this job long term, and I've spoken with her about putting any other money she has available for investing into a Vanguard ROTH IRA in the future after meeting her company match.

Thanks,

FIUBLUE1811

SF'd

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: American Funds Question