Author Topic: Am i crazy to dump half my current liquid into VTSAX?  (Read 2441 times)

zoochadookdook

• Pencil Stache
Am i crazy to dump half my current liquid into VTSAX?
« on: March 11, 2020, 01:41:53 PM »
Hi,

I just sold my house and hold about 160k in my HYSA.
27/single.
Other assets:
4000 HSA
32K Roth ira (need to throw another 5k in there to max this year)
Haven't used my employers 401k yet this year but will start next month (fund 12k this year)

No debt.

My out of pocket expenses going forward (between buying/renting right now, this is for both) are around 2000. That's 2000 take home or so total.

I'm considering keeping 20k in the HYSA (emergency/bill paying fund-each check goes here)
60k as a possibly house deposit (assuming buying up to 240k leaves me at 180 mortgage).....I'm new to the city and am between renting and waiting or buying sooner with the low rates/market/intenet to keep long term as a rental. A bigger kitchen/no neighbors and such vs apt would be nice as well.
As for the other 80-toss it pure stocks and let it ride?

Im not trying to find the bottom; it just seems like i'm losing to inflation having everything at 1.7% in the HYSA and keeping it in VTI/VTSAX when I don't need it for anything direct right now doesn't seem to have many negatives.

Any advice?

bwall

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Am i crazy to dump half my current liquid into VTSAX?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2020, 01:52:06 PM »
We're on the cusp of a bear market. I suspect that the market will go lower still. So there is no need to make any quick decisions.

Here are your best options:

1) put all the money towards a house- by putting the money to work now, you're paying less in interest later. FIRE awaits. Lots of opinions on this and it's been chewed over before on other threads. But, keep in mind, we're on the edge of a bear market.

2) Put the money in VTSAX. Forget about the money and go about your life. Put as much into VTSAX as possible. FIRE awaits.