Author Topic: Advise me on where to invest 100k.  (Read 9473 times)

goosefraba1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advise me on where to invest 100k.
« on: October 01, 2018, 07:44:06 AM »
Hello,

I have been using these forums and mostly lurking for several years. Current salary is $130k, wife is about $55 to $60k. We are both 31 years old. My wife and I have saved up 40k in our checking account since purchasing our home a few years ago. Wife's student loans are near paid off. Mine will be forgiven in 6 more years of paying the minimum through service loan forgiveness. My 401k is maxed ($18,500 a year). Should be receiving a bonus in the next few weeks between $50k and $70k. Planning on putting a considerable amount into a mutual fund (likely in Vanguard) until we are ready to purchase land and build a home, or buy a nice home with a considerable amount of land. Currently have about $50k in equity or more in our current home (purchase price was $165k). 

Not looking to jump right into purchasing land/home in the next year as the Mrs is pregnant with our second :)

So, we are looking at storing away some eggs in the meantime.

Any advice is much appreciated.

TheHardenedInvestor

• Stubble
Re: Advise me on where to invest 100k.
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2018, 07:46:51 AM »
The best performing asset class in history is VFIAX or VTSAX. Those are Vanguard index funds. So that’s what I would do. If you need this money in the short term, then probably not.

I'm a red panda

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2018, 07:47:43 AM »
I'd spread it in Vanguard Total Stock Index, Total Bond; and the international equivalents. 

I do 80/20 stock/bonds and 90/10 domestic/international, personally.

DS

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2018, 08:46:11 AM »
I'd spread it in Vanguard Total Stock Index, Total Bond; and the international equivalents. 

To clarify - 72 VTSAX / 8 VTIAX / 18 VBTLX / 2 VTIBX?

I'm a red panda

• Walrus Stache