Author Topic: Advice for $11,000  (Read 10188 times)

shine88

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice for $11,000
« on: May 06, 2014, 10:38:21 PM »
I'm somewhat new to investing and my head is spinning so thought to ask advice. I have about $11,000 to invest and I'm unsure what to do with it.
Background:
-I'm 26 making between 80-90K/year
-I have 4 Vanguard index funds that have reached admiral
-I'm maxing out my pre-tax contributions to my 401k through work
-No debt, no car, no house

Any ideas?

timmoney

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Advice for $11,000
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2014, 11:05:30 PM »
although this may sound "anti-mustachian" why not take some and do something for yourself? take a vacation. you cant buy experiences no matter how much you save.   another investment idea is why not another mutual fund? i index some and put some in fpa crescent fund. the guy who runs it, steve romick, is very smart, very conservative. he has outperformed all the indexes over the time i have been in it.
  saving and investing and everything is great but dont forget to live a little too. youre in your prime. THIS is your time, your life is NOW!

pom

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2014, 04:04:49 AM »
Your life is now but it is also yesterday, tomorrow, a week from now and 30 years from now. It is not like the money will disapear if you do not use it right away.

That being said, a vacation can be a good investment but definitely not 11k worth of vacation.

My advice: your young at 26, just throw it into a total market fund and let it swing up and down while you collect the dividends.

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2014, 04:26:37 AM »