Author Topic: About to get 130K windfall, would appreciate feedback on my plan  (Read 2242 times)

Keith Miller

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I’ll be selling my first home and moving to Montana in June, and will receive around 130K from the sale. This is my first time selling a home, and would like feedback on my plan for what to do with the money.

In a nutshell, I’d like to deposit all of the money into my tax-advantaged retirement accounts, but I’m wondering about the best way to do that. My draft plan is this: Live off of this 130K for living expenses for 3-4 years, while depositing my entire teacher’s salary into tax advantaged accounts like a 457, 403b, and IRA. My questions are these:

1. Any feedback on this plan? Do you have another suggestion?

2. For these 3-4 years while I’m slowly drawing down the 130K, should the money be invested in a taxed account, like VTSAX? I’m only 28, so would like to be aggressively tilted towards stock index funds, but am not sure if I should be more conservative since I’m living off of the money.

terran

• Magnum Stache
Re: About to get 130K windfall, would appreciate feedback on my plan
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2018, 01:53:09 PM »
Sounds like a good plan. We're doing something similar with a smaller gain from a house sale.

One thing to consider is your mix of tax deferred and Roth (if Roth is available in your 403b/457 plan). You definitely want to realize at least enough income to fill the standard deduction ($12k if you're single) and possibly the 10% bracket (another $9525).