Author Topic: A Cdn getting out of mutual funds into ETFs - best strategy?  (Read 5887 times)

elaine amj

• Walrus Stache
A Cdn getting out of mutual funds into ETFs - best strategy?
« on: April 02, 2015, 07:26:41 PM »
I'm rather embarrassed to ask as usually I am a lurker and a researcher but to be perfectly honest, this whole investing thing has me completely confused. UGH - I never thought I would not be able to understand all this. But the more I read, the more confused I get. I understand the overall ideas - but having a lot of difficulty with the actual specifics. I have been reading like crazy and think I have reached overload to the point where I have no clue what I should do. I need to quit trying to find optimal and just find "good enough" or I will keep putting this off (have put this off for over 2 years now).

Anyway, we absolutely need to get out of our mutual funds. What I read says ETFs are the best way to go since we have 200-300k to invest (although also considering TD e-series since we bank with TD). We have our funds primarily in 3 different companies (with 3 different advisers, etc etc). We're in Canada -  I do like the Cdn Couch Potato and will likely follow one of his portfolios. What steps do we need to take to get all our money into ETFs?

1. Choose a discount brokerage and open an account. Looks like this is best if we sock our money in a separate bank account and invest quarterly? Maybe use TD e-series for my kids' RESP?

2. Fill out paperwork to transfer money out of mutual funds - will the discount brokerage assist with this? just where do we get these forms anyway?  We have RRSPs, TFSAs, RESPs, and some non-registered. Does that make any difference?

3.Do we transfer our money all at once and suck up any fees (I think we had a commitment with Edward Jones or something like that). Do we put our money in ETFs all at once or over time? What about dollar cost averaging?