Author Topic: 529 is fully funded, what now  (Read 2879 times)

JoMama

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
529 is fully funded, what now
« on: May 08, 2018, 10:23:44 AM »
Once your kid's 529 is fully funded - what to do with additional gift money? Index fund? Keep funding 529 past the point of where we think he'll need it? He's not exactly long-term schooling/doctorate material if I'm allowed to say that about my kid... We need to keep his money separate from ours but want to make sure he has access to it as an adult (pre-retirement). We are currently putting the excess into a managed fund but need to stop this. Holy cow, the fees - and the taxes.

So - kind of a newbie here - any recommendations that I can look into? Index fund for kids?

Thank you in advance

mxt0133

• Handlebar Stache
Re: 529 is fully funded, what now
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2018, 10:43:34 AM »
When we were planning to have our first child.  First and foremost our retirement (FIRE) was priority, we did not want our children to be supporting us if we could not longer work.  From there I was already allocating how much of our budget would go to immediate needs vs future needs such as college savings, ect.  After much thought my wife and I decided that instead of focusing on saving for some future expense that might or might not happen, we decided to focus on their immediate needs and to expose them to various activities as early as possible.  The thinking is why save up for college if they might not even get accepted, extreme example I know but the idea is spend the resources now to enable them to have their choice on which one to attend and to be in a position to get as much merit/need based scholarships as possible.