Author Topic: 529 as personal early retirement account sanity check  (Read 967 times)

Kem

• Stubble
529 as personal early retirement account sanity check
« on: December 16, 2021, 01:56:21 PM »
Like using an HSA as an early retirement vehicle, it seems like using the Indiana 529 plan is an awesome option.  As an Indiana resident the immediate 20% match is huge and greatly outweighs the 10% penalty on gains on withdraw.

The details:
As a married Indiana resident, I can invest in a CollegeChoice 529 Direct Savings plan. 

I believe this plan allows me to invest into the Schwab S&P 500 Index Fund (SWPPX) with a net expense ratio of 0.02% & 70BB in net assets.   I am a VTI fan – but SWPPX doesn’t appear too far off of VOO – and VOO really isn’t that far off of VTI.   In short, this looks like a great fund.

CollegeChoice 529 contributions offers a 20% Indiana tax credit up to $1,000.   
As such if we contribute $5,000 into the plan Indiana matches 20%.

I believe from what I’ve read so far (but could use confirmation on):
1 – I can name myself as the beneficiary.
2 – Like a ROTH IRA, contributions may be withdrawn at any time for any reason penalty free.
3 – Like a ROTH IRA, contributions are withdrawn before gains.
4 – Withdraws on earnings are subject to ordinary income tax plus 10% penalty if used for non-education expenses.   If yearly withdraws are kept below the standard deduction, this doesn’t look so bad.
5 – As the Tax Credit is not refundable, the maximum benefit will be the lesser of $5,000 or Total Indiana Gross tax liability for the year.
6 - As the match is a tax credit, it is not subjected to Federal or State taxes.

EvenSteven

• Pencil Stache
Re: 529 as personal early retirement account sanity check
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2021, 02:39:23 PM »