Author Topic: 457 teacher help  (Read 2692 times)

JDS

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
457 teacher help
« on: December 16, 2017, 07:21:45 AM »
I work as a welding instructor at a college in Pennsylvania. It is a great job.  I pay roughly 10% to the state teacher pension system. The pension vests after 10 years. I'm 31 with 6.5 years of service. The pension pays .025 X  years of service  X average of 3 highest years salary. 2018 will be the last year that it is available for new teachers entering the system.

After listening to the chooseFI podcast with the millionaire educator I got motivated to look into adding a 457 account. I am able to enroll in the state employees retirement system differed compensation plan. I would like some recommendations on what fund or funds to choose. I know very little about this program. How do the fees look for this plan? Thanks!

My solo 401k is in Vanguard VTSAX. I guess I would like something similar.

https://sers457.empower-retirement.com/participant/#/articles/Pennsylvania/investmentInformation

Investment information
A wide variety of core investment options are available through your 457 Plan. Each option is explained in more detail below.
Fund overview
Provides each investment’s objective and holdings as well as a breakdown of assets by industry, risk level and fund manager
Fund fact sheets
Asset Allocation
Aggressive Portfolio Fund
Conservative Portfolio Fund
Moderate Portfolio Fund
International
International Company Stock Index Fund
Mid Cap
U.S. Small/Mid Company Stock Index Fund
Large Cap
U.S. Large Company Stock Index Fund
Balanced
60/40 Balanced Stock & Bond Fund
Bond
U.S. Bond Index Fund
Fixed
Stable Value Fund
Money Market
Short-Term Investment Fund
Brokerage
Schwab SDB Sweep Program
Schwab SDB Securities
Schwab SDB Sweep Program Roth
Schwab SDB Securities Roth
« Last Edit: December 16, 2017, 07:42:05 AM by JDS »

DavidAnnArbor

• Handlebar Stache
Re: 457 teacher help
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2017, 07:25:31 AM »
I'd do: