Author Topic: 403b/IRA questions from a beginner  (Read 2464 times)

Dagmar

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
403b/IRA questions from a beginner
« on: May 27, 2016, 02:20:44 PM »
My husband and I are trying to get our retirement accounts in order, and I have a few basic questions.  I am new to finance and investing, and I've been browsing this site and forum for the past month, and plan to read some of the suggested investment books this summer.  In the meantime, I wanted to know if I'm on the right track.

salary: 51k (husband is a teacher, I stay home with our toddler)
403b: 23k
Roth IRA: 5k (all college savings)
bank savings (emergency fund, plus a couple others): 10k
only debt is mortgage: owe 93k with 26 years to go

I have a Roth IRA with Franklin Templeton that I plan to switch over to a Vanguard Target Retirement Fund.  I plan to use this account both for college savings for our child and as a retirement fund. My husband has a 403b with AXA and also contributes to a pension (which we've never counted towards our retirement).  It looks like the 403b choice AXA Moderate-Plus isn't so great, so we are looking into switching it.  Apparently, we have to call each vendor to get a list of their options, and we're working on getting this.  (The vendors are: AXA Equitable, MetLife, VOYA, Oppenheimer, Security Distributors, VALIC, Lincoln Investment, Aspire, Waddell Reed, Great American, Thrivent Financial, and Horace Mann.)  From other threads I've read on here, it seems like 403bs can have crappy options.