Author Topic: 403b or Mortgage Paydown?  (Read 3053 times)

FIT_Goat

• Stubble
403b or Mortgage Paydown?
« on: January 31, 2017, 05:31:27 PM »
I am assuming this is going to be pretty obvious to most.  I am a teacher, and our household income isn't much compared to many here.  I am trying to do my best with what we got.

• My highest tax bracket is 15%
  • I have maxed out my Traditional IRA for 2017.
  • My current 403b is returning a rate of around 3%.
  • My mortgage is 3.25% + MI of 0.89% (FHA), so call it 4.14%
  • I have very little equity in the house (~5.25%)
  • I do not have enough deductions to itemize and include the mortgage interest/insurance

I know the FHA loan is a bad decision.  I could explain why we got in this spot, but I'm not sure it is relevant.  The long-and-short of it is that it came down to financing only on my income while still holding on to a previous property (now sold), which made my debt-to-income ratio too high for other options.

I am assuming it's best to up my contribution to the 403b (currently only $2,640/year) over accelerating the mortgage pay-down.  Although, I am considering splitting the extra money between each.  My current budget has about $700 extra (post-tax) to work with.  That's about $823 pre-tax, right?  So, even though the rate is lower in the 403b, it is better because I get a 15% increase by putting it in pre-tax.  That's probably the wise choice.

My only reason for wanting to hit the mortgage, is that I would like to get to 20% equity as soon as possible and refinance into a 15 year conventional loan.  The risk there is that rates could be up, by the time I have the equity, and it will no longer make sense.  There's no point in refinancing to a higher rate, even if it does get the mortgage insurance off.