Author Topic: 403b Maxing Problem  (Read 2597 times)

spicykissa

• Stubble
403b Maxing Problem
« on: June 20, 2016, 03:01:27 AM »
I have a nice, Mustachian problem that I'm hoping someone has a suggestion for.

I just opened my employer-sponsored 403b. It is through Prudential, and has a Vanguard index fund option. Yay! However, I can only contribute in percentages. Specifically, it says "Contributions from 1%-80% of your before-tax salary may be made to the [Employer] Voluntary 403(b) Plan. For [my site] and [other site], contribution rates may be made in whole percentages. For [yet another site, of which I am jealous], whole percentages or flat dollar may be selected."

I picked 25%, as that gets me close to maxing it out based on last year's total gross pay. However, I'm a nurse. I self-schedule shifts on a 4-week rolling basis, and am paid differentials for nights and weekends. There is often a lot of overtime available, depending on how many patients we have, how sick they are, etc, etc. A biweekly paycheck can range from $2100 at the low end (i.e. straight days) to $4000 at the very high ($1000 bonus + 4x overtime shifts, on weekend nights). Right now we're short-staffed, and I'm pulling in more money, but it's really variable.

How do I make sure I don't accidentally overfund it and owe tax penalties? Or underfund it and miss out on that sweet tax-free savings? Maxing my HSA was easy, because I just picked a dollar amount per paycheck that added up to $3350. There seems to be a 4 to 6 week lag when making any changes through the Prudential website that makes me nervous. I guess I can just check it often, but I'm trying to automate my savings, and not panic if the market goes down (I've never invested before!).