Author Topic: 403(b) Vendors and New Teaching Job  (Read 5609 times)

bennetbp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
403(b) Vendors and New Teaching Job
« on: August 12, 2015, 08:13:31 AM »
I am a teacher and recently changed school districts. My previous school district I was working in made Vaguard available to us for our 403(b) plan, however, my new school district does not. I was wondering which of the following annuity company is my best option to go with. Thank you for your help in advance!

Allmerica
American General
Ameriprise
AXA Equitable
First Investors
Great American
Voya Financial (ING) Aetna
Lincoln Life
Mass Mutual
Reserve
Security Benefit
Valic

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: 403(b) Vendors and New Teaching Job
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2015, 08:55:12 AM »
You will have to see which firms let you invest in low-cost index funds with your employer's 403b, and what those costs are.

BarkyardBQ

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2015, 11:40:27 AM »
What forummm said.

My wife's 457 at Voya allows a TD Ameritrade Self Directed Brokerage Account, which allows us to transfer contributions from Voya to TD as cash and invest in commission free Vanguard ETFs. Her Voya plan charges .19% in addition to the ER of the 5 Vanguard funds to get their kickback. The SDBA costs roughly $60 a year fixed... much better than %'s of a growing 'stache.

Check your options from each of those plans and then see what additional fees they have. I prefer plans where they have a fixed custodial fee per year over plans that charge a % of assets.

I'd also roll your current 403b to a Vanguard Traditional IRA to keep your money in funds you like.

See if your district offers a 457 along with your 403 and prioritize the 457 over the 403 if the options are better.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2015, 11:48:28 AM by zdravé »

WorkingToBeFIREd

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2015, 06:17:10 PM »