Author Topic: 401k - what am I missing?  (Read 10748 times)

cityhippie

401k - what am I missing?
« on: July 15, 2013, 10:36:57 PM »
Okay, so I am jumping into this whole FI/ER thing really late in the game and am in a minor panic (as if panicking does any good) about where I stand financially as it relates to retirement.  I've been a good girl financially for the most part in recent years (no debt besides my 2.625% mortgage, a savings account with 6-12 months' worth of living expenses) and am quite frugal (especially compared to my peers).

I am now finally really looking at my retirement savings options and am very confused about 401ks.

I've been contributing to my employer-sponsored 401k for several years now.  My boss does not match our contributions but makes a profit-sharing contribution at the beginning of each year.

I've been seeing a lot of discussion 'round the interwebs about NOT contributing to the 401k past the match (or at all) because of the high fees.  Here's the question (finally), aren't I already "making" 25% on the 401k contribution because it reduces my reported income?

What am I not seeing/thinking about/grasping?  I work in the finance industry but this "stuff" sometimes makes me feel really stupid.

Also, I compared the ER as shown on my 401k administrator's site against the prospectus of each fund and the prospectus shows a much lower ER.  Is that part of how they hide fees?  Seems pretty blatant (though maybe not as I am just now figuring this out - 10 years into the 401k -ugh).

TIA for your patience/help.

aj_yooper

• Handlebar Stache
Re: 401k - what am I missing?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2013, 05:52:46 AM »

I've been seeing a lot of discussion 'round the interwebs about NOT contributing to the 401k past the match (or at all) because of the high fees.  Here's the question (finally), aren't I already "making" 25% on the 401k contribution because it reduces my reported income?

W