Author Topic: 401k, Traditional IRA & Backdoor Roth IRA  (Read 7351 times)

SoCal Spartan

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
401k, Traditional IRA & Backdoor Roth IRA
« on: August 23, 2013, 10:11:52 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to MMM but am quickly trying to adopt a more mustachian way of life. I've tried doing some research on retirement accounts but have some questions I feel would be best answered by the experts here.

Currently, I am working a contract that will likely become a full-time position within a month or so. I have about $2600 in a Fidelity 401k from a previous full-time position that I have been holding off on rolling over until I know what my current position will become.

Initially my thoughts were to contribute to the company 401k while also opening a Roth IRA and contributing to that as well. However, I have been reading up a bit on backdoor Roth IRA conversions and it seems like this may be the best way to maximize my investment dollars from a Traditional IRA. I will essentially be starting from $0 and therefore won't be taxed on any existing IRA contributions when converting to the Roth IRA. Also, I believe the company doesn't offer any matching for the 401k and I don't think I'll be making enough to max out both the 401k and IRA.

My plan is to rollover the existing 401k into the new company 401k and contribute to that while also maxing out a Traditional IRA and convert that into a Roth IRA. Does that all seem like the right course of action?

Thanks!

madage

• Bristles
Re: 401k, Traditional IRA & Backdoor Roth IRA
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2013, 10:25:58 AM »
Unless the 401(k) at your new employer is really good, I suggest rolling over your old 401(k) to a traditional IRA instead. The reasoning is that you have a much wider selection of funds and probably access to lower-cost funds in an IRA than a 401(k).