Author Topic: 401k Rollover question  (Read 3360 times)

Izybat

• Stubble
401k Rollover question
« on: November 30, 2016, 07:30:29 PM »
I have a small 401k from a previous employer (I haven't worked there in over 8 years). It's currently sitting in Vanguard, but still in the previous company's 401k plan. I'm trying to decide if I should move these funds and either roll them over into my current 401k (through Principal), roll them into an IRA within Vanguard, or leave them alone to grow in the old 401k plan. I'm not really sure what the smartest option is. Any thoughts and suggestions would be helpful.

ender

• Walrus Stache
Re: 401k Rollover question
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2016, 07:33:41 PM »
I rolled mine into my existing IRAs with Vanguard.

Was easy, but took a while to process.

Izybat

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2016, 07:49:25 PM »
I'm still really new to figuring out the whole investing thing, as I've been pretty much a set it and forget it retirement fund person until now. I'm trying to be more proactive about it, but I still haven't learned enough yet to truly understand the pros and cons here. What would I get for each scenario? What are the benefits of rolling over a 401k into an IRA? How would it be different than rolling a 401k into another 401k?

JDsNova

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2016, 09:12:41 PM »
I have a 401k I need to rollover as well.  Rolling into a IR would make sense, except I have a Roth IRA.  It seems like the tax hit would be substantial.  What about rolling a 401k into a TSP account?   I'm a reservist.  Anyone have experience with that?

ender

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2016, 07:13:40 AM »
I have a 401k I need to rollover as well.  Rolling into a IR would make sense, except I have a Roth IRA.  It seems like the tax hit would be substantial.  What about rolling a 401k into a TSP account?   I'm a reservist.  Anyone have experience with that?