Author Topic: 401k rebalancing  (Read 4519 times)

southpaw328

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
401k rebalancing
« on: April 10, 2017, 10:22:22 PM »
Hey, I'm 27 years old, and I have a 401k through my company. I contribute 7% which is 1% more then I need to get the full match. Company matches up to 3% for <2 years of employment and increases 1% per year up to 6%. I do 7, they do 3. I look forward to this fall when they'll go up another 1%. I'm not sure why I do 7% instead of 6%, but I just figured more is better.

Anyway, I am pretty new to Mustachianism and investing. I just finished reading Bogle's Little Book of Common Sense Investing and realized that I could get started with Vanguard in some form just by rebalancing my 401k.

I have 100% allocation in this LifePath Index which was the fund that I was automatically put into,

LifePath Index 2055 Account A
LifePath Funds   
0.06% Gross Expense Ratio

I have 5 Vanguard Indexes available to me:

Vanguard Extended Market Index Trust
Mid Cap Funds      
0.05%

Vanguard Institutional 500 Index Trust
Large Cap Funds   
0.01%

Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Trust
Bond Funds   
0.03%

Vanguard Total Intl Stock Idx InstlPls
International Funds      
0.07%

Vanguard Windsor II Fund - Admiral
Large Cap Funds   
0.25%

I was thinking I would rebalance to 85% Vanguard Institutional 500 Index Trust & 15% Vanguard Total Bond Market Index Trust

What do you guys think about those indexes and allocations? Any and all input is very much appreciated. Thank you!
« Last Edit: April 10, 2017, 10:47:23 PM by southpaw328 »

Semag

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: 401k rebalancing
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2017, 12:18:40 PM »
Hey Southpaw-

I'd say you can look at the lifepath index2055 to see what it is made up of and see if you can beat the expense ratio with the options afforded to you.

Looks like it is:

50% blackrock russell 1000 (close to your vanguard 500 fund)
30% Total International
16% Developed Real Estate.

-----