Author Topic: 401k has no target date funds  (Read 3308 times)

thecrazydoglady

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
401k has no target date funds
« on: October 07, 2016, 09:32:40 AM »
Hi all,

I was hoping my 401k would have some sort of set it and forget  it target date fund since I'm a beginner at investing. Unfortunately, it does not. The funds that have been chosen for me in my current portfolio have very high expense ratios. I'm 25 so i'm comfortable with a lot of risk. What would you recommend given the choices I have attached? My employer offers 3% match and I am currently putting in 10%. I'm considering maxing it out. I love the company I work for and am not planning on leaving unless something drastic changes or I get laid off. Therefore, I don't think i'll be rolling it over any time soon and I want to make sure all of my money isn't going to fees. Thank you all! I really appreciate any advice!
« Last Edit: October 07, 2016, 09:37:16 AM by thecrazydoglady »

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
Re: 401k has no target date funds
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2016, 09:41:27 AM »
Take the Vanguard ones!  I might invest internationally in a Roth or traditional IRA because those rates suck.

Philociraptor

• Handlebar Stache
  • Eat. Sleep. Invest. Repeat.
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2016, 09:41:57 AM »
Vanguard Institutional Index tracks the S&P 500. Personally I put 100% of my 401(k) into that since it has by far the lowest fee, then I put some bonds into my IRA to balance it out. You could do 80% VINIX and 20% PIMCO Total Return if you want to be 80/20 stocks/bonds within your 401(k) but the fees on the PIMCO fund are pretty high (0.75% vs 0.04% on the VINIX). So I'd just go 100% VINIX.

Jack

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2016, 09:51:53 AM »
I'd go with either:

• 100% "Vanguard Institutional Index I"

Or, to approximate the total market:

• 81% "Vanguard Institutional Index I"
  • 4% "Vanguard Mid Cap Index I"
  • 15% "Vanguard Small Cap Index I"