Author Topic: 401k (and Roth) allocation questions  (Read 3019 times)

freezerburn

• Stubble
401k (and Roth) allocation questions
« on: April 18, 2015, 06:50:15 PM »
Hi Mustachians,

I hope you can help with a case study about my 401k.

My 401k managers recently visited the office and I had the chance to consult them about my allocations. I'm new to all this and didn't know what to make of their recommendations so I'd love to hear what you all think, and whether I should change my current allocations at all in either my 401k or my Roth.

I'm 37, and getting a late start on retirement savings, now focused on increasing contributions and reducing spending with the goal of FI in 10 years. I opened a Roth with Vanguard last year before becoming eligible for the employer 401k, and before discovering MMM. Since the new year I've increased my 401k contributions to 27% of my salary, and paused contributions to the Roth until I can reduce spending further (which should happen in June when I move to a cheaper house). I get a 4% match. I eventually plan to max the 401k but it'll take me a little time to get to that point (which is a topic for a more general case study than this one). My employer also offers a Roth 401k but since I already had one via Vanguard, I opted for the regular. They don't offer an HSA.

My current allocations/assets/fees are:
Roth: VTIVX / $1,775 / 0.18 expense ratio. I chose this pre-MMM-discovery, not sure if I should change it.
401k: VFIAX / $2,915 / 0.05 expense ratio. This amount includes my contributions + the employer match to date, however I don't become 100% vested until August 2015. If I leave the job before then (unlikely) I get 0% of the match.

The 401k dudes were advising that I allocate 50% in a Vanguard target date, up to 5% in emerging markets, 1% to 5% in precious metals, and the rest of the percentage in other S&P trackers.

Here are the funds I have available (ticker name / fee%):
AYBPX / 0.71