Author Topic: 401(k) options  (Read 2367 times)

bwaguespack

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
401(k) options
« on: April 23, 2015, 08:31:03 AM »
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to investing. I have been contributing to my 401k for around two years now, but have been using the "advice access" services provided. I noticed it was investing large amounts into the some of the options with the larger expense ratios. I'm looking for some advice on choosing from the options below. The only other retirement account I have right now is a Roth IRA with Betterment with a 90/10 stock/bond allocation. Here are the options we currently have:

-America Euro Pacific (RERGX) .49%
-American Growth Fund (RGAGX) - .33%
-Artisan Mid Cap Fund Instl (APHMX) - .95%
-Artisan Mid Cap Value Fund Inv (ARTQX) - 1.19%
-Blackrock Emergin Market Ind (ZEMERT) - .20%
-Blackrock Extended FD CL K (BEEMT) - .12%
-Blackrock MSCI EAFE Eqty NL (BCMMT) - .08%
-Dodge & Cox International (DODFX) -.64%
-Hotchkis and Wiley SML CP (HWSIX) - 1.00%
-MFS Value FD R5 (MEIKX) - .55%
-Morgan Stanley GLBL Real (MRLAX) - 1.02%
-Parametric Emergng Markets (EIEMX) - 1.13%
-Vanguard Explorer Admiral (VEXRX) - .35%
-Vanguard REIT Index (VGSNX) - .08%
-Vanguard Total Bond MKT Index (VBMPX) - .05%
-Vanguard SHRT TRM BD INDX INST (VBITX) - .07%
-Vanguard INTER Term Treas ADM (VFIUX) - .10%

We also have a Vanguard Employee Benefit Index Fund that tracks the S&P 500 Index with a .02% Expense Ratio.

Thanks in advance for your help

pksr

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Asset-Based Life
Re: 401(k) options
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2015, 09:26:22 AM »
I'd start with determining what sort of asset allocation you are comfortable with - not in your 401K, but across your entire investing portfolio.

If you end up with a heavy weighting in equities, and the S&P 500 can help with that, then I'm hopeful that the math will allow you to put ALL of your 401K in the S&P 500 option for 2 basis points - you won't be able to beat that anywhere.