Author Topic: 26 y/o, single, hoping for some guidance and clarification.  (Read 4071 times)

v104

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
26 y/o, single, hoping for some guidance and clarification.
« on: November 22, 2016, 05:18:44 AM »
Hi MMM Community,

This is my first post here, but I felt compelled to join the MMM forums.  Over the last year or so, I've developed a surprisingly deep interest in managing my personal finance in the hope that I'm preparing well for the future.  However, a lot of people my age (26) aren't interested in talking about investing/saving/maximizing... (and that's okay).

While I've been doing my part by making good choices (I think) & educating myself in my down-time, I'm fully aware I am no expert.  I have so much to learn, but I am excited to do so.  However, I'm not overly confident with my current standing.  Therefore, I'm hoping you might allow me to lay down my current stats to form a bigger picture regarding my situation & in return, maybe offer some guidance or any room for improvement?  I would genuinely appreciate it!

Marital Status: Single
Kids: 0
Education: B.A. from University of Washington
2016 Income: $70-75k
Total Debt: $0

I currently work a government job which pays hourly, offering mandatory/voluntary overtime blocks (4 hrs each at 1.5x pay).  I pay a lot in rent, but I live 2 blocks from work and I can walk everywhere.  I do not pay for parking in the city, so I probably only fill my gas tank once a month.

Monthly Spending
Rent - $1680
Eating Out/Groceries - $300
Phone - $102 (Discount through employer)
Insurance - $90
Gas - $60
Utilities - $50
Internet - $0 (Apartment bldg provides free WiFi)
Cable - $0
Total: ~$2300