Author Topic: 21 year old starting to invest - NEED advice!!!  (Read 9477 times)

Gatzbie

• Stubble
21 year old starting to invest - NEED advice!!!
« on: May 09, 2016, 10:12:08 AM »
I have no experience with investing would appreciate all of your advice greatly.
Me:

Money Saved Up:  around 25k
Currently looking to invest:  5k  (just to get something started)
Debt:   None
College:  1 more year left, Major will be Accounting!
Expenses:  No major expenses (Not having to pay for rent/school)
Job:  Summer jobs and paid internships ( No full-time job yet) 
Long-term Career:  I have no idea, (trying to figure this out still) 

My Situation:  Currently filling out application on Vanguard to set up an account to invest 5k.   I have no idea what to invest it in. I want it to be for retirement.  Should I start off with a Roth IRA?  I was thinking about putting my money in the Vanguard 500 Index Fund Investor Shares (VFINX).  I have no experience with investing.  Supposedly I should take more risk in stocks over bonds because I'm younger?  Whatever long-term career I choose to do, I plan on saving large amounts of money and investing whatever I can (would like to retire as soon as possible.) 

Any recommendations, or things I should maybe do differently? Anything you might have done differently when you started out investing?

« Last Edit: May 17, 2016, 12:25:39 PM by Gatzbie »

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
Re: 21 year old starting to invest - NEED advice!!!
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2016, 10:31:13 AM »
Fantastic job saving up that much money and already thinking about investing! :D

Read this for a pretty complete education (and an entertaining read): http://jlcollinsnh.com/stock-series/

As you are young, I think following this advice is probably best:
http://jlcollinsnh.com/2011/06/08/how-i-failed-my-daughter-and-a-simple-path-to-wealth/