Author Topic: 100% Stocks or 90/10?  (Read 26059 times)

TheBuddha

• Stubble
100% Stocks or 90/10?
« on: April 24, 2015, 12:12:42 AM »
I was thinking of doing 100% equities in my (newly-opened) Roth IRA but I had a weird thought: would 90/10 maybe perform better?

I'm new to all of this, but from what I understand about rebalancing a portfolio, it lets you "lock in" some gains by always selling some of the winners to buy the losers.

Would 10% bonds serve as a repository for some of the stock gains? Example: If the market crashed after I rebalanced, I'd probably be glad I'd sold some of the stock and locked it in.

Does that make any sense? Or would 100% stocks always be better in the long run?

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: 100% Stocks or 90/10?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2015, 12:16:55 AM »
I was thinking of doing 100% equities in my (newly-opened) Roth IRA but I had a weird thought: would 90/10 maybe perform better?
Maybe.  Maybe not.

I'm new to all of this, but from what I understand about rebalancing a portfolio, it lets you "lock in" some gains by always selling some of the winners to buy the losers.
Would 10% bonds serve as a repository for some of the stock gains? Example: If the market crashed after I rebalanced, I'd probably be glad I'd sold some of the stock and locked it in.
Yes, you would be glad in that example.  If the market continued up after you rebalanced, you would be unhappy because you sold some of the stock and lost the continue appreciation.

Does that make any sense?
Yes.
Or would 100% stocks always be better in the long run?
Maybe.  Maybe not.

Mighty-Dollar

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2015, 04:00:57 AM »
Having 10% in bonds doesn't reduce your upside by much. I would diversify. 90 / 10 is what Warren Buffet recommends.

Here's Jim Cramer's recommendations...
Younger than 30 - No reason to own bonds
In your 30's: 10% - 20% bonds
In your 40's: 20% - 30% bonds
In your 50's: 30% - 40% bonds
60 to retirement: 40% - 50% bonds