Author Topic: (Another) Roth vs. Traditional - 23yo  (Read 2079 times)

24andfrugal

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
(Another) Roth vs. Traditional - 23yo
« on: May 21, 2019, 11:57:19 AM »
I know, I know. This question has been asked a million times, but I'm still rather new to this and need someone to hold my hand a bit.

I started a new job a few weeks ago and I'll need to make my benefits selections soon. I have about $5k in a Roth 401(k) from my last job, but I'm not sure whether to go Roth or Traditional this time around.

I'm 23 and make $69,000/year, and this coming April will be my last year as a single filer (I'll be getting married later in 2020; my fiance makes $37,500 and works for a small company that doesn't offer much of a retirement plan, in case that's relevant). I will also be getting a HDHP through my employer, so I have an option to (and plan to) contribute to an HSA.

I'd rather be able to take my money out tax free later, but I don't want to shoot myself in the foot by not taking advantage of tax savings. I guess my problem now is that things are still so early for me (and politics are so volatile) that it's hard to tell what my income level/tax bracket will be like and what my expenses will be later in life, as well as at what age we'd reach FI. I also plan to work part time (Barista FI) and may possibly own an Airbnb, if that factors into "what tax bracket would you be in retirement".

What should I do?

Also, is the advantage of a traditional 401k only realized if you're able to max out contributions? I think I could, but that might be pushing it.

Thanks!

EvenSteven

• Pencil Stache
Re: (Another) Roth vs. Traditional - 23yo
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2019, 12:09:59 PM »
The one comparison to rule them all when deciding between traditional or Roth is marginal tax now vs. marginal tax upon withdrawal. If your tax rate is lower now, Roth. If it will be lower when withdrawing, traditional.