Author Topic: "How to make money in the stock market" - Why MMM is wrong.  (Read 9185 times)

Buffaloski Boris

• Handlebar Stache
Re: "How to make money in the stock market" - Why MMM is wrong.
« Reply #50 on: March 04, 2020, 03:19:57 PM »
First, I am a 26yr old Canadian ...  I studied/work in finance and have read pretty much every possible books on investing for individual investors ...
You "work in finance" at age 26.  To clarify, you are not an authority on finance, correct?

We mostly agree that diversification is important.  Where it is least important is in the United States.  If you market cap weight the entire world, the U.S. holds more than half the world's market cap.  You can browse any "Total World" or "All Countries Index", and U.S. alone will comprise over 50% of the index / fund.
I respectfully disagree. If the US market tanks compared to the rest of the world, then you’ll be very happy for that Non US diversification. The US market has been running high compared to the rest of the world for a long time now. It’s not the norm for it to stay that way. The US market compared to other world markets is also relatively pricey.

Buffaloski Boris

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #51 on: March 04, 2020, 03:27:46 PM »
OK, I'm going to be a condescending Gen-X-er here. I haven't had my coffee, and my patience for the millionth iteration of the same argument is low.

OP, keep reading. Your thesis statement is nothing new. There have been many, many discussions and arguments around how much international exposure is "correct" above and beyond what's baked into the US stock market indices.

Read more, post less.

Oh nonsense.  The OP is a noob, and if there is anything that MMMrs seem to love, it’s razzing noobs who aren’t quite up to speed. This one happens to be quite bright, well-read, and has a different spin on things.