Author Topic: "How to make money in the stock market" - Why MMM is wrong.  (Read 9184 times)

LuigiNMario

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
"How to make money in the stock market" - Why MMM is wrong.
« on: March 03, 2020, 11:22:57 AM »
First, I am a 26yr old Canadian mustachian investing for fat-FIRE by the time I'm 35.

Buying the S&P500 is a NOT a proper investment strategy This article is about proper Asset Allocation for a portfolio, as I found this article from MMM lacking in basic principles of proper asset allocation:

https://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2011/05/18/how-to-make-money-in-the-stock-market/

A bit of information on my background. I studied/work in finance and have read pretty much every possible books on investing for individual investors. I also have a Canadian investor perspective, but this article also discusses US investing.

I will assume that readers know/agree with the following, as historical data (not 10 years, 50++ years) has shown that:
1. Diversification across asset classes, geographical location and sectors reduce portfolio volatility and increases return if rebalancing is done on a regular basis (quarterly/yearly).
2. Trying to find the ideal asset allocation is useless as it is never constant. Historical ideal asset allocation is no guarantee it will be the ideal allocation in the future. Therefore equal weight between asset classes should be pretty close to the ideal asset allocation in the long term.
3. Stock picking and market timing should be avoided, as it does not generate any excess return.
4. Costs matter a lot.

For reference, my portfolio strategy is the following:
1. 25% CAN Equity: ZLB
2. 25% US Equity: VUN
3. 12.5% Developed Ex North America: VIU
4. 12.5% Emerging Mrkts: VEE
5. 25% CAN ST Bonds: VSB
I make equal quarterly investments in each ETF, bringing back my AA to its target % each time. I also own a real estate rental property.