Author Topic: "But right now the market is at an all-time high ..."  (Read 18309 times)

shuffler

• Pencil Stache
"But right now the market is at an all-time high ..."
« on: July 04, 2014, 01:12:44 AM »
I hear people saying, "But right now the market is at an all-time high ..." as a reason for not buying stocks, and instead choosing to hold cash or pre-pay low-rate mortgages, etc.

But is an all-time high really that unusual?

I'm a bit of a noob at stock/trend analysis, so I'm sure many people here can do this better than I have done, but I chose the DJIA and data from 1950 to today, and I found that ...

42% of the time, the DJIA was within  5% of its all-time high.
    62% of the time, the DJIA was within 10% of its all-time high.
    75% of the time, the DJIA was within 15% of its all-time high.

To me, it seems like the market (or at least the DJIA) is near an all-time high most of the time.  Within 15% is "near" in my reckoning.

On average, the daily closing price was at 90.4% of the up-to-that-day all-time high.

So if it's undesirable to invest when a person feels that the market is near an all-time high, then investing on an average day would be preferred, but it's only going to find the market to be 9.6% cheaper.  And to me, that doesn't seem like a good deal.  I'm likely to make that much from the market in a year (or 1.5 years) by investing my stash and not holding it back.

Opinions?
From people who are holding cash?  Are you waiting for a better-than-average (i.e. less than 90% of all-time-high) day to invest?

What else should I have considered in my meager analysis?

milesdividendmd

• Handlebar Stache
    • Miles Dividend MD
Re: "But right now the market is at an all-time high ..."
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2014, 01:17:20 AM »
Good analysis.  The market being at an "all time high" is entirely irrelevant.