Author Topic: "420 index" or "green rush"  (Read 4065 times)

mustachioso

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
"420 index" or "green rush"
« on: January 07, 2014, 11:57:12 AM »
With the seemingly imminent legalization of marijuana a few of my friends have invested a few thousand dollars into the 'picks and shovels' of the medical marijuana industry. Being a true mustachian I told them I don't gamble and stayed out. Boy do I feel foolish now!

Sure, this is probably a flash in the pan and someone is going to be left holding the bag but I was wondering if anyone else saw any opportunities or if you think things might go terribly wrong in the long term for stocks like these.

MDBX - up 75% at the time of this posting
MJNA
PHOT
CBIS

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: "420 index" or "green rush"
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2014, 01:33:19 PM »
ERE Forums had a thread on this awhile back:
http://earlyretirementextreme.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4285
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

KingCoin

• Pencil Stache
  • Achieved FI @ 30
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2014, 02:16:22 PM »
Haven't looked into it, but the pertinent questions would be:
1) Do these guys have any proprietary technology that bigger firms can't simply copy?
2) Is their first mover advantage big enough to justify their valuation?
3) What do their current valuations imply about earnings growth and is this reasonable/justifiable?

As an asymmetric get-rich-quick trade, you've probably missed the boat. I'm guessing you're firmly in greater fool territory now, but again, I haven't looked at the numbers.

zoltani

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2014, 05:35:24 PM »