Author Topic: Non-Tax CPAs here? What side hustles do you do?  (Read 6622 times)

Btag84

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • CPA
Non-Tax CPAs here? What side hustles do you do?
« on: March 07, 2017, 10:06:44 AM »
Hello,

I am a CPA in Ohio and I was wondering what kind of side hustles other CPAs do that aren't tax related. I did the typical public accounting stint (6 years in audit) after college and then did SEC Reporting at a large bank and now do technical accounting/policy research at a large utility. I know a common side hustle is doing taxes for people/business, but I don't have that skill set. I know bookkeeping is another option, but I think that's pretty saturated with other low cost providers. I would love to get ideas related to SEC Reporting/Technical Accounting types of work, but I think generally bigger companies are the ones looking for those skills and they usually in-source.

If not a side hustle, are there CPAs out there who do non-tax work on a freelance or independent contractor basis? If so, how did you get into that? I would love to explore more flexible and remote working opportunities in the future and would love feedback or advice. 

SeattleCPA

• Handlebar Stache
    • Evergreen Small Business
Re: Non-Tax CPAs here? What side hustles do you do?
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2017, 07:08:44 PM »
Since nobody has responded, can I suggest you think about the tax thing? And more specifically entity returns so like partnerships, Sub S corps, and C corps.

No, no, I did read your post and saw the "no tax expertise" comments... but for entity returns, much of the work is general accounting. (In some forms, like 5471s, you need to use GAAP.) Further, while the low-end 1040 stuff is basically sweat-shop territory if you're not careful, with entity returns and all the accounting behind those returns, you might be surprised at how fast you could ramp up a pretty workable side hustle.

Just an idea.

GeorgeWood

• 5 O'Clock Shadow