Author Topic: Non-programmer seeking programmer on business idea  (Read 2469 times)

gachillies

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Non-programmer seeking programmer on business idea
« on: December 22, 2019, 06:19:34 AM »
I work in the business world as a CPA in public accounting / private equity accounting. Throughout my career I have had ideas for technology solutions that could bring greater efficiency or value to my industry, but have rarely had the skill set required to implement these ideas.

I am convinced my most recent idea for an enterprise software platform would address some serious needs in my industry, however I don't have the technical skill set to know where to even begin.

Does anyone have recommendations on 1.) how to describe a business challenge and get feedback on a technical solution to a programmer audience? and 2.) Partner with someone who has the technical skills that I lack, but who doesn't have a great business idea and may be interested in a project?

Ideally I want to have some informal conversations with individuals who could be interested in a new project without engaging someone as a freelancer without knowing the technical scope of my project.

LPG

• Stubble
    • 1000x Faster Blog
Re: Non-programmer seeking programmer on business idea
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2019, 11:19:05 AM »
It sounds to me like you need to define the vision for some of these projects, and start getting them in front of people. If they're experts in your field they'll be able to help you define the series of tasks needed to turn your vision into reality, and maybe recommend improvements beyond your plan. Do you know any people with the relevant skills that you'd be comfortable reaching out to?

If/when you do reach out to people, I'd try to follow this general path: