Author Topic: You Tube Entrepreneurs?  (Read 3736 times)

lilsaver

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
You Tube Entrepreneurs?
« on: May 31, 2020, 05:49:53 PM »
Are you a You Tube content creator/entrepreneur? Looking to hear stories on how you got started, learned the platform, and does it serve as a income source for you?

Smokystache

• Pencil Stache
Re: You Tube Entrepreneurs?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2020, 06:10:15 PM »
I have a youtube channel with about 20 videos designed to answer common questions about my area of expertise (I'm a psychologist). I use the videos to build brand recognition and send them to my website where I sell an online program/course. I do not have a vlog; I don't regularly contribute new videos - so my goal isn't to try to build up a large enough audience to make money simply by getting ad income from Youtube.

what i've learned:
- Youtube is very, very crowded - even in a topic that is commonly experienced by most people

My $.02 if you want to build a Youtube audience:
either a) be very niche in your topic, or b) be very polarizing (some people love you and some hate/disagree with you.

SailingOnASmallSailboat

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2020, 06:22:58 PM »
I've got a YouTube channel with over 300 videos and I dunno? 1300 subscribers? Got started by putting up a simple how to on making salad dressing and got some nice encouragement, so I started a weekly food video series that ran for 6 solid years. At one point I had a Patreon account with a whopping 6 people who paid me every week to see the video before anyone else.

There definitely are people who make bank from YouTube. My bet is there are far more people who use it as a way to inform, educate, and bring value to their audience - and then sell a course or membership. Jason Brown (The Brown Report) did a great interview with Jill and Josh Stanton of the Screw the 9-5 podcast awhile ago about how he uses his YouTube channel.