Author Topic: lawyer needs new job!  (Read 4197 times)

valaraukar

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
lawyer needs new job!
« on: March 06, 2021, 08:23:47 AM »
Hi all, I'm a lawyer with 21 years of practice, and I'm simply burnt out.  I took a detour into financial advising from 2012-2014, and while I enjoy money matters, I didn't like being a salesman.  So I went back into law as a solo attorney, and it's been lucrative (I made $175k last year) but I've reached the point at which I need to leave so I have some quality of life. 

We discovered FIRE late, and we're 46 and 49yo, so retiring at a young age isn't in the cards.  But thankfully my wife loves her job and I like to work, so I don't mind continuing to build a retirement fund over the next 10-15-20 years. 

Luckily, after discovering FIRE last year we analyzed all our spending, sold off a nonperforming rental property, paid off nearly all our debt, doubled our net worth, and we live completely off my wife's income.  My income will go straight to retirement investing.  So I don't need to earn what I earned last year; it can dial back to much lower income if necessary.  I prefer flexibility with my time so I can take the kids to school, pick them up, take them to doctor's apptmts, etc. so my wife doesn't have to (she's a college professor, so her schedule isn't always flexible due to her teaching schedule).

--I've considered going back into financial advising, but I'd be pushed to sell whole life insurance, high-fee mutual funds, or other products which I don't believe meet people's needs. 

--I've considered becoming a financial coach to teach people how to analyze their cash flow and get their spending priorities sorted out, without being an actual investment advisor.  I don't have a local network of contacts here so I'd be doing a lot of network building before I see income, so I'd want a "side gig to that side gig"  as it gets started.