Author Topic: I'm a biz owner (law firm)- but maybe I no longer want to be? Advice requested!  (Read 3244 times)

CNM

• Pencil Stache
I am a business owner (small law firm).  Sometimes I love my work, sometimes I don't.  I am 41 years old and I have 2 elementary aged kids.

I am at the point where I have sufficient savings to take an extended sabbatical. 

I could do so, but that would mean unwinding and closing my firm.  I am sure my small number of employees could easily find other work but the problem is that re-establishing my business should I regret my decision would be difficult-- I have great staff, a great location, plenty of good clients, all of the offices are set up with furniture and tech, etc.  It would be very difficult if not impossible to replicate the good thing I have going here.  I say "good" but it is still work, after all. :) I do not think I could take an extended leave (like a few years) without closing, as I am the senior partner here and bring in the work that keeps us going. Also, I am at the point in my career where I am starting to become preeminent in my field.  If I put the breaks on it now, I might not be able to get that back.

I could probably get a job as an employee or associate elsewhere if I needed to at some point (although punching a time clock/being responsible for billable hour quotas seems like a G D nightmare).  I could also leave law altogether and help out my spouse at his business (not law), which would increase the family income.

Is this the sunk cost fallacy going on here? OMY? Internalized capitalism? How do I decide what to do? Any advice appreciated.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2021, 09:19:12 AM by CNM »

SeattleCPA

• Handlebar Stache
    • Evergreen Small Business
The last years you work make the biggest difference to your net worth: https://evergreensmallbusiness.com/the-big-benefits-of-entrepreneurial-longevity/   so that's one thing to consider.