Author Topic: Engineering - starting a firm or going solo  (Read 6661 times)

js82

• Pencil Stache
Engineering - starting a firm or going solo
« on: October 07, 2019, 02:41:32 PM »
I just recently passed the PE exam, and have been contemplating doing my own thing.  I'm curious as to whether there's anyone on these forums that has started their own engineering firm, or done solo engineering work(i.e. not via any sort of temp agency).  Would be interested in hearing the experiences of anyone who has gone down this path - how did you get started - did you ease into it as a side gig before jumping with both feet, or did you cut ties and go full speed?  What do you like/dislike about it?

For reference, my background is in chemical engineering and materials science.  In general my current job is too intellectually constraining(primarily because my organization has a very top-down decision-making process), and as such I'm looking for options that give me more flexibility and room for growth.

Car Jack

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Engineering - starting a firm or going solo
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2019, 07:48:40 AM »
I have many friends who are contractors on their own or who used to be.  The 2 biggest things that every single one of them say are:

1) the time spent on the business side (non-billable hours) equals the time in billable hours.  Thus the easy rate setting of double what you'd make as an employed engineer.

2) Customers often don't pay.  You have to be able to spot this as early as possible and learn how to deal with it.  This isn't just small customers.  Huge corporations often don't pay their bills.