Author Topic: Baby on the way... Should I switch to HSA-compatible health insurance?  (Read 2810 times)

pianokyle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hi all, I'm fairly new to mustachianism and am loving it so far.  But I have a lot to learn and would love some help!

I'm self-employed and have a baby with a due date only two weeks away (mid-September 2017).  I purchase my health insurance through the marketplace and am on a high-dectible health insurance plan, but it's not HSA-compatible.  When the baby comes I will have an opportunity to switch insurances... if I want.

Should I switch to a plan that is HSA-compatible now or just wait until the beginning of next year?

(I hear that my deductible will reset, is that something I should be concerned about with a new baby?  Also, is it beneficial to switch with only a few months left in the year?)  Thanks in advance!

pianokyle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Baby on the way... Should I switch to HSA-compatible health insurance?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2017, 08:50:57 AM »
HSA plans are all high deductible, right?  A lot of people move to a lower deductible plan when they have children.  The first couple of years of care can be expensive.

Thanks, Bender!  I hadn't thought about that...

slappy

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2017, 08:56:34 AM »
I have an HSA with a baby.  With my plan, which is through work, once I hit my out of pocket max, they cover everything else at 100% (in network). As you will soon find out, the delivery alone will be more than the out of pocket max. So everything else is covered at 100%. I actually posted about this here at some point because it seems too goo be to be true, but I've had the plan for three years and two babies and it is working. It could be because my plan is through an employer through. Marketplace plans may not cover as much. I guess it all depends on the plan, but I've been happy with the HSA.

slappy

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2017, 11:24:46 AM »