Author Topic: Wannabe Electrician wants to fix his bread maker!  (Read 3576 times)

Paul der Krake

• Walrus Stache
Wannabe Electrician wants to fix his bread maker!
« on: May 18, 2014, 11:56:18 AM »
So my bread maker stopped working.

Symptom: it bakes but the rotor doesn't seem to want to move, ever, so all the ingredients sit there without being kneaded. It was made in 1996 and the manufacturer's website doesn't give any advanced troubleshooting details, so I'm on my own here. The problem is, I know nothing about electricity. I know that electrons are like little angels carrying negative charges in the wrong way, and somehow that makes bulbs go bright and motors go vroom vroom, but that's about it. Total noob, and don't know where to start.

How do I check individual components without getting shocked? Do I need a multimeter? Do you have books or online tutorials to recommend?

I have taken some pictures of the beast, if it makes things easier.

http://imgur.com/a/UXWCr (scroll down to see all 3)

Greg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Wannabe Electrician wants to fix his bread maker!
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 09:14:21 AM »
First thing is to unplug it to work on it.  Then start taking it apart.  You may find that difficult as it was unlikely to be designed for service.  Then look for burned wires or crispy connections.  Sometimes you get lucky and the problem will be obvious.  If it's the motor, it might be difficult to find a replacement.  Ditto to gears and other interior mechanical parts.

You can use a simple Volt Ohm Meter to determine if any of your wires are bad.  If you don't have a VOM, buy one that comes with a booklet on how to use it.  Experiment a bit with things around the house you know work.

Thegoblinchief

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2014, 03:50:25 PM »
Go to Goodwill and "fix" it for $10. That would also probably be the easiest way to source possible replacement parts.

My local store usually has 5-10 machines at any one time.

Greg

• Handlebar Stache