Author Topic: Range plug not in wall  (Read 1011 times)

MrsP

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Range plug not in wall
« on: November 28, 2021, 07:43:26 PM »
I'm looking at updating our kitchen to our new (to us) house. I'd been thinking about switching out electric for gas and posted about using an adapter earlier. However, I felt this needed its own thread b/c it wasn't on my radar. The house was built in 2000 and our understanding was that all the appliances except the fridge were original.

We were assuming (doh!) that it had a normal plug. This weekend, my husband thought we should double check that if was a four prong, not a three prong plug. What we found was cord coming out of the wall with a four prong box attached. Ack! Is this safe? (even for an electric range) I'm not even sure what to do with this thing!

uniwelder

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Range plug not in wall
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2021, 08:01:22 PM »
I’m not an electrician. If it were my house, I’d not worry much. It should be secured to the wall so it doesn’t get torn out next time the stove is moved. Shut off breaker for stove, open plastic casing of plug, put two screws through metal backing of plug into wall along the bottom 1 1/2” to hit wood, and reassemble. It looks like you should be able to lay the plug horizontally to either the left or right of where the wire comes out of the wall, so choose whichever direction lets you plug the stove back in easiest.

jpdx

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2021, 10:38:26 PM »
The receptacle should be definitely be secured as described above.

Still, I wonder if the exposed NM cable is allowed in the NEC. Even though it's only a few inches, I would think it needs to be either inside the wall or protected from physical damage. If you are renovating and decide to keep the electric stove, that would be a good time to correct this.

Paper Chaser

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2021, 06:23:07 AM »