Author Topic: Project - New kitchen!  (Read 35802 times)

MrSal

• Pencil Stache
Project - New kitchen!
« on: February 15, 2015, 05:27:41 PM »
After my first project even being crown molding a few weeks ago... My wife and I decided during this weekend which we have 4 days off, to attack the kitchen which we have been waiting to change it.

We are in no way DIY'ers in the sense that we have no experience whatsoever ... I graduated with honors on YouTube DIY though watching videos after videos on how to do stuff like this!

Anyhow, here it goes...

The before...

And the ongoing work ...

We used double tap to hang the tiles we want... I joked that backsplashes should be done with a velcro wall instead of mortar !! Maybe this has some legs the idea eheh

We sanded down every freakin cabinet because they were dirty or had some kind of glue on the inside... also we wanted everything to look flush so it looks like a single piece, so everything that wasnt flush got sanded down to be leveled to.

Also suddenly, when this weekend we were only supposed to do the cabinets ... she starts ripping part of the backsplash and also tearing down the range hood ... oh well ...

This is as of right now ... 2 coats of primer still ... lots to go yet !

In these pictures i think you can see reminiscences from my first project ever... the crown molding I did all around the house ...

couponvan

• Walrus Stache
    • My journal
Re: Project - New kitchen!
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2015, 08:35:02 PM »
Following to see what happens!  It looks like a ton of work, but I hope it pays off.

PatStab

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2015, 09:15:50 PM »
It's well worth it if the cabinets are good and those look to be.  I have stripped several, added new hardware and they were good to go for some years more.