Author Topic: New dishwasher -- DIY install or pay?  (Read 34563 times)

brandino29

• Bristles
New dishwasher -- DIY install or pay?
« on: January 29, 2014, 01:23:11 PM »
We're buying a dishwasher -- music to my ears (we've done dishes by hand for 5 years and with baby bottles, pump parts, and both of us packing our lunches daily in tupperware containers, it's become a real pain in the ass) -- but the question is, do I try to install it myself or do I pay to have it installed? 

A dishwasher swap out seems pretty easy from the youtube videos and DIYnetwork.com, but this would be an entirely new install because we don't currently have a dishwasher so we would have to run new electric which I have no knowledge of how to do.  I'm guessing it would cost in the neighborhood of $100-150 to have someone install it?  Which the more I think about it and the potential problems I may encounter, I'm thinking it may be worth it. 

.22guy

• Stubble
Re: New dishwasher -- DIY install or pay?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2014, 01:32:19 PM »
For me personally, if the connections were already there I would do it myself in a heartbeat.  But if they weren't I would probably pay someone.  That just seems past my comfort level.

nordlead

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2014, 01:40:59 PM »
Electric is pretty easy, but you have to follow code. If you don't think you can follow the code then pay someone to do it.

Typically a dishwasher would have to be on it's own circuit (possibly you could share it with a disposal but nothing else really) with the outlet behind the dishwasher (not under the sink). So you'd have to add a 15-20A circuit breaker to your box. Run wire from the breaker box to your kitchen and hook it up to an outlet where you are putting the dishwasher.  (your local code may vary so don't take my word for it)

The rest is super easy.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2014, 01:46:41 PM »