Author Topic: Knitting help  (Read 7331 times)

Warlord1986

• Handlebar Stache
Knitting help
« on: April 13, 2017, 09:30:38 AM »
I hope this is the right forum.

I'm new to knitting, and I'm trying to learn more stitches and patterns. I cam across the attached shawl pattern that I'd like to make for my mother for her birthday. The challenge is I can't find an explanation for two of the stitches. The pattern mentions:

sst with yo = slip stitch with yarn over: slip stitch as if to purl together with yarn over
ptog with YO = purl the stitch together with yarn over

Does anyone have any videos for those two stitches?

Thank you!

aetherie

• Pencil Stache
Re: Knitting help
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2017, 10:19:32 AM »
For the first one, do you know how to do a regular "slip as if to purl"? (https://knitting-crochet.wonderhowto.com/how-to/slip-stitch-purl-row-0134121/)
When you get to that point in the pattern, you should have a regular stitch with a yarn over either before or after it. For this, you can just pretend the YO is another stitch. All you need to do is: instead of sticking the needle in only the regular stitch to slip it, stick the needle through both the stitch and the neighboring YO. Then slip them, together. So it will look like the video in the link above, except there will be two wraps of yarn on your needle instead of one.

For the second one, do you know how to do a regular "purl two together"? (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7z6I8trai1U)
Again, pretend the YO is just another stitch, and do that.

Does that help at all? :)

Warlord1986

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2017, 01:37:57 PM »
I don't think I understand. I thought the YO was on the right needle. The way you're describing it, it sounds like it's on the left.

For the second, do I put the YO on the right needle and purl? Is that what you're saying?

aetherie

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2017, 02:04:43 PM »