Author Topic: Is there a way to sharpen Wahl Clippers?  (Read 17227 times)

cowbellfever123

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Is there a way to sharpen Wahl Clippers?
« on: May 10, 2014, 08:35:39 PM »
I've been cutting my own hair for a few years with a pair of $30 Wahl clippers. They are getting dull and I'm wondering if anyone knows a good way to sharpen them, or if I'll need to pick up a new pair in the near future?

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Is there a way to sharpen Wahl Clippers?
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2014, 11:43:30 PM »
In the Wahl FAQ site under "BLADES" you will find
"Q. What about blade sharpening?
A. Blades may be sharpened by sending them to: Wahl Annex, 3001 North Locust Street, Sterling, IL 61081. Attention Wahl Repair Department."

Not the most helpful answer, as it doesn't say if there is a cost, how to disassemble and package the blades, etc. - but you can take that up with Wahl if you want.

For non-Wahl Co. suggestions, google "sharpening Wahl clippers" and you'll find various suggestions (and maybe more details about the Wahl sharpening service?).

libertarian4321

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2014, 05:35:56 AM »
There are lots of videos online showing how to do it.

Thegoblinchief

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2014, 06:59:42 AM »
I've been cutting my own hair for a few years with a pair of $30 Wahl clippers. They are getting dull and I'm wondering if anyone knows a good way to sharpen them, or if I'll need to pick up a new pair in the near future?

Make sure you're maintaining the blade with oil too. They shouldn't get dull that fast.

BigHammah

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2014, 11:06:02 AM »
I haven't paid for a haircut since mid-2003.

Same here, I own a pair of Wahl Clippers that I paid around $30 for. At 2+ cuts a month, this thing has been used 250-300 times.