Author Topic: How to put a music thingy in the car as a surprise for my husband?  (Read 2873 times)

lifejoy

• Magnum Stache
  • Lovin' the Mustachian life!
    • Not Buying This
We have a 2004 Jetta TDI. DH has wanted a device that he can hook his iphone up to and such swanky stuff like that. I don't really know much about technology, all I know is that we tried the super cheap options and they don't work (i.e. put a cassette in the tape deck and plug it in to your iphone). Does anyone mind walking a total newb through the process of getting something installed that would give him better capabilities? I don't even know where to start but I'd love to surprise him!

We recently paid our student loans and he has done nothing to spoil himself... I'd love to treat him to this small surprise!

Sailor Sam

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
  • Semper...something
Re: How to put a music thingy in the car as a surprise for my husband?
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 09:56:29 PM »
When you select the music thingy of your choice, just read the box to make sure its compatible with is car. You'll also need to purchase the electrical harness for his specific car.

To install, you'll need detailed instructions on how to dismantle the dash. Some cars are complicated, and some are easy. Instructions are usually avaliable on the internet, just be sure you get the exact make and model. The harness installation kit should have detailed instructions on how to connect the wires.

You'll need a soldering iron, and solder to get the wires together. If you haven't soldered before, you'll probably want to watch a few youtube videos, and practice a little bit.   

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2016, 10:26:13 PM »