Author Topic: How to feel warmer in my apartment?  (Read 14805 times)

trachma

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • Port Potager
Re: How to feel warmer in my apartment?
« Reply #50 on: November 28, 2016, 04:51:48 PM »
For bed, I have a memory foam lumbar pillow that I tuck under or between my knees. It really holds the heat in, but is totally passive as far as energy expenditure.

letired

• Pencil Stache
    • Needs More Glitter
« Reply #51 on: December 08, 2016, 09:30:29 AM »
I grew up in a giant old house in southern ohio where my parents kept the temps low in the winter because OMG EXPENSIVE TO HEAT and have always run cold.

1. Figure out what bits you need to keep warm to feel warm and address those. For me, this is weirdly mostly my joints. I don't care about having cold toes, but if my ankles feel cold, I'm miserable, etc. So I like giant loungy pants that shroud my ankles, giant fuzzy wool socks, that sort of thing. Also think about where you are losing heat. I don't need them to be heavy or super insulated, but wearing a pair of slippers helps keep my feet warm because I'm not losing heat to the floor when I'm walking around. Wearing a hat helps reduce heat loss from my head, that sort of thing.

2. A hat makes a huge difference for me, especially when trying to fall asleep.

3. +1 to rice sack/heating pad/cuddly animal. Having your immediate area warmed up is key! Warming up the bed before I get in is also a huge help.

4. +1 to most of the materials mentioned. Knit acrylic blankets or fleece blankets have always served me well when I'm sitting around all day. If you come across a down throw, those things are amazing for lap blankets when it's really cold. Wool clothing, especially fuzzy socks and baselayers are great. I layer up like crazy, and that helps a ton.