Author Topic: Homebrewing  (Read 14816 times)

old_man_m

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Homebrewing
« on: March 07, 2012, 09:43:00 PM »
I've been brewing my own beer for two years now. I brewed extract/mini-mash batches for one year, then switched over to all-grain batches. Last year, I brewed 12 batches/55 gallons.

I won't pretend that homebrewing saves me tons of money--I've spent a few hundred dollars on equipment, then there are ongoing expenses for propane, sanitizer, bottle caps, etc. Then again, whereas I used to spend $30/month on commercial beer, now I might spend $15 on store-bought beer every 3-4 months.

I also employ a few Mustachian techniques--first and foremost, I reuse yeast from batch to batch. At $7/vial of liquid yeast, that's not a bad savings per batch. I try to use the same yeast in at least three batches, if not four or five.

As a side benefit, brewing is a nice way to spend six hours on a Saturday afternoon, and nothing attracts friends like offering free beer!

I know MMM is a homebrewer... anyone else?

sol

• Walrus Stache
Re: Homebrewing
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 11:51:54 PM »
I've got a bunch of friends who homebrew, and I've looked into it myself but decided that it doesn't make sense from a frugality perspective. 

If you like brewing beer as a hobby then I'm fully in support, but the numbers don't really work out favorably when compared to buying decent medium grade beer from the grocery store, always fresh and always cold and only minutes away, and that never produces a bad batch.

Plus I still think of beer much like I think of television or ice cream.  A nice luxury sometimes, but not something I would put much time or money towards.

I can see the attraction of maybe trying to make your own novelty beer using only ingredients you grow in your own yard, but I don't pretend it would be cheaper than Sam Adams.

Parizade

• Handlebar Stache
  • Happily FIREd
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2012, 12:45:51 AM »